Writing

NaNo Prep: Student Style

As this year’s season of NaNoWriMo approaches, I find that I am nowhere as prepared as I have been in previous years. Being a full-time University student can really take a toll on having a fully thought out plot. A couple days ago I got to thinking that maybe I don’t have to have a completely fleshed out plot, maybe I can be like most writers and just figure the story out as I go. I’m not intending on writing a long novel this year, as I simply don’t have the time, but even so, the idea of not plotting every little detail out totally terrifies me!

I’m an organizer by nature, and my writing process is no different. I wrote a blot post a while back about how spontaneous plots differ from from planned out ones, and still think that both have a lot of potential. That being said, I still have to plan out everything before November 1st, otherwise, it’s going to be a rough 30 days.

Normally, in NaNo season, my plot will change as I start to write and find out that, no, I can’t write 2 000 words on how pretty that forest is. You realize pretty quickly that if you’re bored while writing the chapter, then your reader is going to be even more bored. So, you need to adapt to a new style of writing so you don’t fall asleep while in the middle of a sentence.

Successfully completing NaNoWriMo, is hard. I mean, the goal is to write 50 000 words in 30 days! Regardless of whether you get to 2 000 or 100 000 words, it’s really tough going. Other than attempting to make your word count sky rocket, you are trying to breathe life into brand new characters, keep your plot from deflating due to plot holes, and shut down your inner editor that keeps nit-picking every 50 words or so. Oh, and while you’re dealing with all those issues, you have to still do everything in your normal life. For 30 days. Is it just me, or does that sound totally nuts? Yup, but it’s a lot of fun, too.

My advice is to totally immerse yourself in NaNo life during November. The website has plenty of ways for you to get involved locally with NaNoWriMo. After all, you aren’t going to be the only one in your town or city that’s participating, and a huge project like this is always better when you have a friend to do it with.

As I said, I’m really struggling with my prep this year. I have a great plot, but I just don’t have a huge chunk of time that I can sit down and work out the potential issues and plot holes. What are some of your favourite ways to prepare for NaNo? What are some tips that you have to share? To those of you participating in this crazy adventure, happy writing!

Image Credit: ywp.nanowrimo.org (Google)
Image Credit: ywp.nanowrimo.org (Google)
Leave a Reply

