Uncategorized

The Bus

In the past year or two, I have used the public bus system to get around town. I always find it fascinating, the different kinds of people that are on the bus with you. There are two different routes I usually take, but I don’t go on the bus often enough to be totally comfortable. By that, I mean that I sit by the window, staring obsessively at the street signs to make sure that I get off at the right stop. Yup, that’s me.

On my adventures on the bus, though, I’ve learned that some people are comfortable no matter where they go, and it totally freaks me out! I mean, I can’t even listen to music while I’m on the bus, because I’m so scared that I’m going to miss my stop and end up God-knows-where and no way to get back to anything familiar. Then, there are some people that sit on the bus with computers out and headphones in, working away like it’s no big deal!

I’m jealous of those kinds of people, mostly because I am very dedicated student, so any time that I can get to work on homework or do some class reading, I’ll take it. The bus is not one of the places I can relax, though, and I wish I could be productive instead of staring listlessly out the window for the whole trip.

Due to the fact that I don’t take the bus everyday, I can understand how I am never comfortable enough to listen to music or chat with a friend sitting close by. Even if I did take the bus everyday, though, I still don’t think I’d ever be able to put loud music on and start writing a paper in the middle of a bus ride.

When I write, I go into another world completely and have basically no idea how much time passes or what’s going on around me at the time. There was once in middle school, when I had finished my work early in class, so I was reading a book. One minute, everyone’s working away and I’m happily reading, the next minute, the teacher is accusing me of being rude and disrespectful because I wasn’t paying attention to the explanation she was giving.

It turned out that I had been reading for an hour, and in that time, the class had finished their work and the teacher had moved on to the next subject. I had no idea that anything was even going on. I never read in class again!

So, to you multitasking people on the bus, I envy your skills, and hope that you never miss your stop!

bus
Image Credit: http://www.freeclipartnow.com (Google)

Out of curiosity, does anyone else have the same issue as me on the bus, or am I just a fluke?

1 thought on “The Bus”

  1. Thanks for this. I have the same paranoia of missing my stop. Works for Airplanes and Trains. I think we should have an app that alerts us when we are one stop from our final stop.

    Like

Leave a Reply

