Uncategorized

How Not to Be an Ostrich

For all students, school can get insanely stressful when the busy period hits. For university students, that is pretty much everyday of the semester. The intense course load, the all-nighters and struggling to maintain a social life while juggling school and work commitments…sometimes it’s all too much and all we want to do is be an ostrich and bury our heads in the sand until all of it is over. Am I right?

ostrich-sand
Image Credit: politicalviolenceataglance.org (Google)

Personally, I’m buried under a mountain of work from school and, though I have this same luck every year, I find myself kind of panicking that I won’t get it all done in time. There are only so many hours in a day, and by staying up late every night working, the next day is a drag and is counter-productive. I haven’t been able to find a way to be rested, and get all the work done, but I’m still searching around and trying new things.

I can’t do anything about the work load, unfortunately, but I do have a solution to managing the stress. Going for a walk or some other kind of physical exercise is the best way for me to burn off some excess worrying. It doesn’t take away all of it, of course, but it helps me get back in charge of my own life. Seeing all the work in front of you is terrifying, but taking a step back and observing the big picture really helps calm you down.

I take half an hour everyday and no matter if I’m in the middle of writing a paper or studying for a midterm, I stop and do my exercise. I also take that small pocket of time – half an hour – to watch an episode of my favourite show on Netflix or listen to some awesome new music. That way, I don’t notice the exercise so much, I’m focusing on the music or the movie/TV show. When I finish, I’m tired, but I’m also much calmer. I’ve regained that equilibrium in my life, and I know that I will get that studying done, and paper finished, even if I am running low on time.

Physical exercise is great for our health anyway, as is stated in this article ( one of many) so it’s a good way to keep yourself in shape. I have found that I have more energy when I’m finished, and it makes me eager for the next day to come, so I can do it again. Taking that short 30 minutes makes all the difference to me, it forces me back into the world that doesn’t involve school, and shows me that I have to remember that stressing myself out over every single thing isn’t going to help anything.

That’s my method of quieting the madness down for 30 minutes a day. What are some of yours?

1 thought on “How Not to Be an Ostrich”

  1. A very good lesson here to take time to take care. Grasping the bigger picture reminds us of what needs to be worried about and what doesn’t matter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

